It itches, flakes and falls!

Last week was a terror for me. My previously clean, non-itchy scalp was transformed into a hot, scaly, itchy mess. My shrinkage didn’t even bother me then as I was too ticked by the flakes left on my shoulder and forehead. Now not only does dandruff affect you physically but emotionally it can also take its toll. Who wants to always have their fingers scratching their scalp or dusting off flakes? definitely not me. Dandruff can be a result of many things, such as hormonal changes, stress, illness (psoriasis, eczema) and even sensitivity to some hair products. There are many products that have been marketed for such but from my experience only works to get rid of the flakes o the scalp and does not necessarily get rid of the problem.

What have I been doing to control my dandruff?

I have been using a mixture of rose water and tea tree oil, apple cider vinegar and lemons on my scalp whenever I co-wash.

How has this been beneficial to  me?

Rose water will help with any inflammation caused by scratching your scalp

The tea tree oil works as an antibacterial and antifungal

Apple cider vinegar balances the pH of your scalp and clarifies helping to eliminate any over production of yeast

The lemon will  also help to clarify

If after trying the above method or other over the counter anti-dandruff shampoos and your scalp is still red, swollen and itchy then it might be time for you to check with your doctor. You may have another condition that has similar symptoms like dandruff.

A healthy scalp means a head full of healthy hair!

Leave a Reply

