My favorite spices/herbs/seeds and their health benefits

Today I got a question about foods that can be used to speed up one’s metabolism and since I use a lot of herbs and spices that have tons of health benefits I decided to share. I have narrowed the list down to 5 of my favorites which have health benefits such as speeding up the metabolism for those who want to lose weight and providing a good source of vitamins for healthy hair growth.

DISCLAIMER: THE INFORMATION LISTED BELOW IS BASED ON MY EXPERIENCE AND SHOULD NOT BE USED ALONE TO DERIVE BENEFITS LISTED. A BALANCED DIET INCLUDING THE SPICES/HERBS/SEEDS ALONG WITH OTHER FRUITS AND VEGETABLES IS ADVISED. ALSO MANY OF THE HEALTH BENEFITS CAN ONLY BE GAINED FROM CONTINUED USE.

1. Cayenne Pepper: This one I can never do without, and I mean never. You know that feeling you get when one of your hair staples is almost finished? Yea, well I get that feeling when I’m running low on cayenne pepper 😀

So let’s get started on how beneficial this spice is. Well for starters, it is high in vitamin A which aids in sebum production in the scalp and as we all know a healthy scalp equals hair growth and healthy hair in general. Cayenne pepper also boosts the metabolism and can aid in weight loss. Other peppers also have the ability to boost your metabolism since they cause your body heat to rise. When this happens, you burn calories in order to “cool down” your body temperature.

2. Cinnamon Powder

I add cinnamon to my smoothies, juices, desserts I bake , teas and even fruits! It has a wonderful aroma and adds a boost of excitement when added to foods/beverages. It is known to have anti-fungal, anti-viral and antioxidant properties. Many books on herbs also state that it can be used as a paste made with honey and EVOO to relieve hair loss and stimulate hair growth. I have not tried this. If you have feel free to share below.

3. I don’t always encourage popping a pill unless it’s an emergency and absolutely needed ( although I am studying medicine, I do believe in “prevention is better than cure”) and if you’re like me when that time of the month comes along , it brings with it the cramps. Anise seeds when brewed can be used to alleviate menstrual cramps. It also contains antioxidant vitamins such as vitamin C and A.

4. Flax Seeds: I think this is a definite favorite for most people especially is you are a DIY person you might have tried to make your own hair gel using these seeds. However, flax seeds are known to be high in Omega-3 fatty acids which promotes scalp health. So go ahead and add a few seeds to your salad or smoothie and  your scalp will thank you for it. Flax seeds are also known to help maintain a healthy weight.

*Research the required dietary intake before using. I use about 2 tablespoons of flax seeds roasted in the oven before adding to my foods.

5. Finally, most of you should be familiar with rosemary as it can be found in many conditioners and other hair products. I like to soak it in warm Olive oil and let it steep for a week or two, strain and use to massage my scalp. It  does wonders to stimulate blood flow and can aid in hair growth as a result. However, when ingested it also has some great benefits. I enjoy a cup of tea brewed with rosemary herbs and lemon juice since it contains vitamins such as A, C, D,K and B vitamins.

Healthy Hair comes from a healthy you! Have a good one until next time 😀

 

2 thoughts on “My favorite spices/herbs/seeds and their health benefits”

Leave a Reply

