Book/Film Review: Forks Over Knives

I am not a vegetarian, I tried it once for a year and stopped because of the unavailability of vegetables, fruits and beans at the time. I have recently started a journey to a healthier lifestyle however and even if I have not completely eradicated animal based products from my diet, I will soon be doing so. Today as I review the book/film  Forks Over knives, I hope you will begin to understand the importance of eating healthy.

Processed foods, fast food, sodas and other high sodium foods pose a great problem in most countries that have adapted the western lifestyle and causes many lifestyle diseases such as diabetes,obesity and even high blood pressure.
Let me say that this is one time that I enjoyed a documentary over a book and I think this is because, the book was more of a supplement highlighting the maain points of the film instead of having a unique and steady flow of words that makes a book appealing.

In the beginning of the book, the author made a very interesting point where he posed a question asking why is it that even though health is a major focus in today’s society, we have a high prevalence of chronic diseases. Well, the problem doesn’t seem to be lack of knowledge but instead an unwillingness to turn from the very things making us sick. In the end, it all boils down to our lifestyle choices. That urge to grab a burger from Burger King can easily be counteracted by making a bean based patty packed with lots of protein and a healthy salad at the side. Essentially, the point Gene Stone is so potently explaining is that the best way to promote health is to eat a whole-foods, plant-based diet.

A little excerpt from the book that had me giggling like I was ten again explains in plain terms what a plant-based diet involves:

“A plant-based diet is a very simple one. It consists of avoiding anything
that came from a source that ever had a face or a mother”

The author further went on to say that refined and artificial foods with chemical additives should also be avoided if you want to truly experience the benefits of a HEALTHY diet.

Since I am usually long winded when I am writing about something I like, I will come to a close before I end up with way too much reading material for you guys. I thoroughly enjoyed both the book and film and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in a healthier diet. You don’t have to be a vegetarian but if you are kudos to you. There is a ton of information on vitamins and minerals derived from plants/herbs. The book also contains recipes and even a section on how to read nutritional labels when purchasing foods.

Well that’s all for now folks. If you do decide to read the book or watch the film, feel free to share your thoughts. Have a good one!

Leave a Reply

