Aloe Vera, Honey and EVOO Deep Condition

The temperatures have been crazy high recently and besides co-washing every two days I have had to deep condition every week. And even though this is already in my regimen, I tend to get a little lazy at times and push my DC to once every two weeks. But recently moisture retention has been at the top of my list. Today before heading out I cleansed my scalp with some Apple Cider Vinegar and deep conditioned with my Aloe, honey and olive oil mix.

Aloe vera has many benefits when it comes to hair but today, my main purpose was to add moisture and shine. Aloe Vera can also help with dandruff or other itchy scalp conditions.

Honey is a humectant and will draw moisture to the hair during the conditioning process. Basically because it retains water it is a good moisturizer for the hair. Massaging honey with cinnamon on the scalp is also known to cleanse the scalp 🙂

Extra Virgin Olive oil works great for regular conditioning of the hair and as a result I use it for hot oil treatments, deep conditioning and sealing in moisture. Because of the moisture it adds, I always get a dose of shiny hair after my treatments.

Whenever I deep condition with this mix my hair is soft, easier to manage and most importantly not prone to dryness.

What You Will Need: Amount will depend on length and density of  your hair. Below is the amount I used for my hair.

  • EVOO (1/2 cup)
  • Honey (2 tablespoons)
  • Aloe Vera (2 stalks)

Scrape the gel from the aloe vera and blend until you have a gel like consistency (no chunks). Add the EVOO and honey, heat for a few seconds and apply to hair in sections. Pay attention to scalp and ends of hair. Cover with shower cap and leave for 45 mins or longer if you have the time. Rinse out and condition hair as usual.

Deep Conditioning has to be done on a regular basis if you really want to see results. Be sure to keep hydrated in addition. Have a good one!

 

4 thoughts on “Aloe Vera, Honey and EVOO Deep Condition”

  1. I have never tried deep conditioning with aloe. Reading this blog makes me want to try it out. I currently deep condition with a mixture of cholesterol, honey, and a tiny bit of castor oil and that has been working pretty good so far. I have a lot of issues with dandruff and dry scalp however, so does the aloe efficiently take care of these issues for you?

    1. HEY! Yes the aloe is great for itchy, dry scalp because of its moisturizing properties. It is also very soothing if your scalp gets irritated from dry scalp problems. However, you have to include it in your regular regimen for it to be beneficial. I also do regular scalp massages with rosemary oil and rinses with apple cider vinegar. I have had a lot of dandruff and scalp issues in the past but since incorporating all I mentioned above, I have been fine 😀

      1. I’m definitely going to give aloe a try and I’ve heard a lot about rosemary oil. I was debating actually buying a plant and making my own oil from scratch:) I thought it would be pretty cool! With your regimen how has your growth been?

  2. Yes you should try it! I made a batch once from dried rosemary leaves and olive oil and really liked it. The regular massages with rosemary oil has really helped me (it works great to stimulate blood flow to the scalp and enhance growth) a lot. I went from 1/4 inch per month to 1/2 since I started it about 6 months ago. I can’t say for sure if that is the only thing that helped because I also started eating a lot healthier but it is one of the things I did and my growth rate has improved. So try it out and see what happens

Leave a Reply

