Random Favorites (August)

Writing this post was fun for me, I have never done a favorites post before but I have been getting requests to do so and finally thought why not. It is a little bit of this and that, hair, skin, food etc. Everything that I have enjoyed for the month of August. I am a little biased so will be starting with my favorite hair products ūüėÄ

I have only incorporated two new products for the month of August, one a conditioner and the other a moisturizer. The moisturizer I have been really enjoying with  great results  is the Beautiful Textures Moisture Butter. I have already done a separate review which you can check out here but I must say I really like this butter. I have been doing a lot of twists recently because of the heat and humidity and it keeps my hair soft, moisturized and defined despite the crazy weather.

The other product is the Herbal Essences Long Term Relationship Conditioner. The smell is heavenly and it has awesome slip. It is a bit more expensive than my usual VO5 Moisture Milk but I just can’t seem to get enough of this conditioner. What can I say the hair wants what the hair wants.

Moving on from hair, I have two products that I have been using on my face that I will definitely continue to use. Pimples have never really been a problem for me but recently I have been getting major breakouts and the only thing that seems to work is the Artistry Anti-Blemish Cream. It contains salicylic acid as its main ingredient and is perfect for spot treating my pimples. The salicyclic acid helps to clear and prevent blemishes caused by acne.

I rarely wear make up but when it comes to hiding a blemish or just because I feel like it, I usually apply some foundation. A cousin of mine introduced me to the Maybelline  Dream Matte Mousse which I now LOVE! Its a nude foundation and once you choose the correction shade it blends right into your skin.

When it comes to skincare my usual Shea and Coco butter are still my staples but I love to invest in butters and creams from the Body Shop and Solstice Scents. My favorite for this month however is the Spiced Vanilla Body Butter. It leaves my skin moisturized and smelling like cake and spices (yummy).

Another random favorite of mine this month is the Miss Oops Sponge Remover. I first received this as a free sample after shopping at Valrosa for hair products.  I threw it at the back of my closet and forgot about it until about a week ago when my deodorant messed up my little black dress and caused me to fuss because I hate using a wet cloth on my clothes when I have to go out. Thankfully I remembered my Miss Oops sponge and voila the white stain was gone with no wet residue.

Health is extremely important to me, as you can tell from some of my older posts. I have been making and drinking my own smoothies and juicing a lot. I love salads and my favorite way to eat my salad is with flax seeds or nuts sprinkled on the top. I have really been enjoying the Archer Farms variation of nuts. The raw unsalted almonds have been my favorite this month. The make a very healthy and tasty snack that you can use to munch on or soak to make a delicious almond milk.

I also can’t get enough of teas and choosing just one as my favorite is quite difficult but I have recently been enjoying a blend of cinnamon, cloves, ginger and cardamom.

Finally, I would like to share a book I read this month and thoroughly enjoyed. A friend of mine sent it to me as a favor to her and I decided to give it a go. The Bra Book by Jene Luciani gives a concise description about the history of bras, finding the perfect fit and a lot more things I didn’t know about a bra lol. It is an interesting read with a touch of humor and I will probably be doing a review soon.

What are some of you favorites for the month of August? Don’t be afraid to share ūüėÄ

Leave a Reply

