Men and natural hair: Aaron’s journey

Happy Sunday everyone! I came across Aaron’s blog a few days ago and was really surprised to find a male natural hair blogger/vlogger and just had to do a little interview. If you’re male and interested in growing your hair out, check out Aaron’s blog! For the rest of my natural hair ladies, you can find some really useful information on his blog and you tube channel. The natural hair scene is indeed a “cornucopia” of gender, culture, nationality and awesome hair all round 😀
1.Hey Aaron! Can you tell us a bit about about yourself?
I am a hair vlogger/blogger, performing artist, playwright, and creative coach originally from Seattle, WA. I love all things creative, and I believe that anything is possible.

2. How long have you been natural?

Almost my entire life(aside from a few experiences with texturizers, and a relaxer), but I didn’t learn about properly caring for kinky-curly hair until 2008.
3. What was your inspiration?
Everyone with long kinky-curly hair, and big beautiful afros inspire me.
4. Is it difficult being male and growing your hair out?
For me, it was not difficult because I learned at a very young age that what people think of me and my appearance is none of my business, and has nothing to do with me. All that matters is that I love the way I look.
5. When you decided to go natural, did you have a lot of support?
I didn’t have a lot of support, but to be honest, I never really looked for it. When I decided that I wanted to grow my hair out, my mind was made up, and that was that. My family has always encouraged me to be myself, and to do what feels right for me, so in that sense I had their support, but it would have been nice to have had someone to whom I could ask questions about hair care in the beginning of my hair journey. That is one of the reasons why I created a group on Facebook called the “Happy Nappy Longhairs” for men who are growing out their hair and the people who support him.
6. Can you give us a look into what your hair regimen is like?

I moisturize my hair every day with a quick spritz of water, then I seal with an oil. My oils of choice are olive oil, castor oil, and shea butter. I mix and whip them together in various combinations. When my hair really needs a good softening, I use pure shea butter. My protective style of choice is a smaller-sized two-strand twist.

I decided to go comb free this summer, and use only my fingers to comb and detangle my hair. So far, I have to say that I do not miss my comb.

I wash my hair once a week to once every three weeks, depending on what style my hair is in. I wash my hair in 8-10 sections. If my hair is in a protective style for over two weeks, I will run a little apple cider vinegar mixed with water through my scalp, then refresh the protective style.

On hair washing days, I detangle my hair in sections before I get in the shower. I use olive oil, conditioner, or both to detangle my hair. Then, I wash my hair with an apple cider vinegar/water mix, or I deep clean my hair with bentonite clay. I deep clean my hair whenever it feels really dirty. I love how the bentionite clay draws everything off my hair and scalp, and wakes up my curls. For me, apple cider vinegar and bentonite clay work better than shampoo.

I deep condition with olive oil and honey every time I wash my hair. I leave it on for at least an hour under a plastic cap.

When I want to use a store-bought conditioner, I use the Honeysuckle Rose conditioner by Aubrey Organics.

That’s pretty much it.

7. Any favorite products?

Shampoos and conditioners by Aubrey Organics. Other than that, I love my oils and butters, my apple cider vinegar, and my bentonite clay.
8. What makes your hair special to you?
The fact that everyone has their own unique “type” of hair, and the fact that it can be used as a tool for self-expression. No one else on Earth has your hair, so embrace it, and express yourself! Loving the hair you have is essential to a prosperous hair journey.
9. Any advice to other men thinking about growing their hair out or who are already natural?
Do it! If you’re thinking about growing out your hair, then you should go for it. Life is too short not to try it, and you’re definitely not alone.
10. How can you be contacted if anyone has further questions/interests?

You can find me on youtube: youtube.com/unkleronnnie
You can visit my blog: longhairaaron.blogspot.com
I’m also on Facebook: facebook.com/longhairaaron
& Twitter: twitter.com/longhairaaron
& Everyone is welcome to join my facebook group: Happy Nappy Longhairs

5 thoughts on “Men and natural hair: Aaron’s journey”

Leave a Reply

