Merissa’s 2 year Journey with Locs

Meet Merissa, Guyanese born living in Toronto. Merissa has been natural for two years and loves the versatility of her locs. Do you have locs? What do you love most about your loc’d hair?

What triggered the start of your natural hair journey?

I decided to go natural for a number of reasons. My hair wasn’t adjusting well to the changing seasons here in Canada and the cost to maintain relaxed hair in Toronto is ridiculous! Both my mother and an aunt of mine had been locing there hair for a while and I loved the look. 

What do you love most about having your hair the way it is now?

My favourite thing about my hair isn’t the easy maintenance. It’s the versatility. I think people assume that you are limited in hairstyles,etc if you have locs instead of straight hair but even with just shoulder length dreads, I’ve found a nice variety of styles.

THEN:

NOW:

Leave a Reply

